Golden Apple Awards 2020: A Celebration of Our GUSOM Community

An exterior view of the Medical-Dental Building at Georgetown University Medical Center.
The Golden Apple Awards Ceremony honors faculty, students and staff for their outstanding contributions and commitment to Georgetown University School of Medicine.

Posted in GUMC Stories  |  Tagged , , , , ,

(May 18, 2020) — Georgetown University School of Medicine faculty, students and staff were honored virtually for this year’s annual Golden Apple Awards.

Golden Apple Awards

The Golden Apple Award is presented annually by each class to a member of the faculty whose outstanding professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of the members of the class.

Shiloh Jones, PhD – Class of 2023

Shiloh Jones, PhD – Class of 2022

Shimae Fitzgibbons, MD, MEd – Class of 2021

J. V. Nable, MD, MS – Class of 2020

Cura Personalis Award

The Cura Personalis Award recognizes exemplary individuals who embody the spirit of professionalism and cura personalis both in and out of the classroom.

Joon Chung – Class of 2023

Michael Markel – Class of 2022

John C. Rose Award

The John C. Rose Award is presented annually to a member of the faculty or administration who has demonstrated outstanding service to the school and has contributed to the improvement of medical education and student life.

Stephen Ray Mitchell, MD, MBA

Geza M. Illes Award

The Geza M. Illes Award honors an outstanding first year teacher who serves as an inspirational role model in the field of gross anatomy.

Shiloh Jones, PhD

Doctoring Award

The Doctoring Award recognizes a faculty member, module director, or leader in a Clinical Skills Course whose outstanding teaching, professional, and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of the members of Georgetown University School of Medicine.

Erin Farrish, MD

Excellence in Teaching at HOYA Clinic Award

The Excellence in Teaching at HOYA Clinic Award recognizes excellence in teaching clinical skills and caring for underserved populations at HOYA Clinic.

Stephen Ray Mitchell, MD, MBA

Lambda Award

The Lambda Award recognizes a GUSOM faculty member’s enduring commitment to the LGBTQ community at Georgetown University.

Susan Cheng, Ed.L.D., MPP

Jeanne V. Walther Award

The Jeanne V. Walther Award recognizes an administrator who has displayed outstanding service, chosen by the student leaders on behalf of the entire student body.

Princy N. Kumar, MD

Physiology Teacher of the Year Award

The Special Masters Program in Physiology students present the Physiology Teacher of the Year Award to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional qualities as an educator.

Jennifer Whitney, PhD

Faculty Affiliate Award

The Faculty Affiliate Award is given to a physician, outside of Georgetown, who has made a significant contribution to the clinical medical education and mentorship at Georgetown University School of Medicine.

Miguel Fernandez, MD

Golden Orchard

Membership in the Golden Orchard is an honor shared by those individuals whose sustained dedication to teaching has earned them three or more Golden Apple Awards.

Michael Adams, MD, Medicine

William T Beaver, MD, Pharmacology

Daniel H. Connor, MD, Pathology

John S. Dillon, MD, Surgery

Kenneth Dretchen, PhD, Pharmacology

Rebecca Evangelista, MD, Surgery

Stephen R. T. Evans, MD, Surgery

Mary Furlong, MD, Pathology

Richard Gillis, PhD, Pharmacology

Aviad Haramati, PhD, Physiology

Yvonne Hernandez, PhD, Pharmacology

Donlad Kerwin, MD, Pathology

Donald M. Knowlan, MD, Medicine

Princy N. Kumar, MD, Infectious Diseases

Clifton A. Leftridge, Jr. MD, Radiology

Stephen Ray Mitchell, MD, MBA, Medicine

Susan Mulroney, PhD, Physiology & Biophysics

Wesley P. Norman, PhD,  Anatomy

Arthur Raines, PhD, Pharmacology

Charles Read, MD, Pulmonary

Wolfgang P. Rennert, MD, Pediatrics

Joseph Timpone, MD, Infectious Disease

Carlo Tornatore, MD, Neurology

Aykut Uren, MD, Hematology & Oncology

Branislav Vidic, SD, Anatomy

Russell Wall, MD, Anesthesiology

Sean Whelton, MD, Medicine

Congratulations to the 2020 Golden Apple Honorees!