35th Annual Golden Apple Awards Presented

Posted in GUMC Stories

For the 35th year, Georgetown University School of Medicine students and faculty members were honored at that annual Golden Apple Awards. This year’s event on April 13 was held at Sequoia restaurant in Washington. 

Golden Apple Awards
Each class presents the Golden Apple Award annually to a faculty member whose outstanding professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of members of the class.

Susan Mulroney, PhD – class of 2016 
Joseph Timpone, MD
– class of 2015 
Carlo Tornatore, MD – class of 2014 
Michael Adams, MD
– class of 2013 

Faculty Affiliate Award
Faculty affiliate is a physician, outside of Georgetown, who has made a significant contribution to our clinical medical education and provided mentorship to medical students during their rotations.

Michelle Duncan, MD
Virginia Hospital Center

Mother of Pearl Award
Each year students select several residents for their humanism and dedication to teaching. These residents are honored for having given the “String of Teaching Pearls” to these future physicians. Of these residents, one receives the Mother of Pearl Award.

Drew Falconer

The Geza M. Illes Award
The Geza M. Illes Award honors an outstanding first year teacher who serves as an inspirational role model in the field of gross anatomy.

Aykut Uren, PhD

Physiology Teacher of the Year Award
Students in the Special Masters Program in Physiology present the Physiology Teacher of the Year Award to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional qualities as an educator.

Charles Read, MD 

Cura Personalis Award
The Cura Personalis Award recognizes exemplary individuals who embody the spirit of professionalism and cura personalis both in and out of the classroom.

Will Corder – class of 2016
Will Chapman and Sara Loftin – class of 2015

John C. Rose Award
The John C. Rose Award is presented annually to a member of the faculty or administration who has demonstrated outstanding service to the school and has  contributed to the improvement of medical education and student life.

Cameron Jones, MSc

Jeanne V. Walther Award for Administrative Excellence
The student leaders select an administrator who has displayed outstanding service to receive this award. 

C. Scott Dorris

Golden Apple Awards student planning committee:

Marsiyana Henricus
Rebecca Kumar
Samuel Klatman
Islam Fayed
John Nolan
Heather Pemberton

By Karen Mallet, GUMC Communications

(Published April 19, 2013)