Golden Apple Awards Ceremony Celebrates Students, Faculty

Posted in GUMC Stories

MARCH 30, 2015—Georgetown University School of Medicine (new window) students and faculty members were honored at the 37th Annual Golden Apple Awards. This year’s event took place March 28 at Leavey Conference Center and Hotel at Georgetown. 

Golden Apple Awards

Each class presents the Golden Apple Award annually to a faculty member whose outstanding professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of members of the class.

Aykut Uren, MD (new window) – class of 2018
Mary Furlong, MD (new window) – class of 2017
Vincent WinklerPrins, MD (new window) – class of 2016
Princy Kumar, MD (new window) – class of 2015

Faculty Affiliate Award

A faculty affiliate is a physician outside of Georgetown who has made a significant contribution to our clinical medical education and provided mentorship to medical students during their rotations.

Manesh Nachnani, MD (new window)
Virginia Hospital Center (new window)

Mother of Pearl Award

Each year students select several residents for their humanism and dedication to teaching. These residents are honored for having given the “String of Teaching Pearls” to these future physicians. Of these residents, one receives the Mother of Pearl Award.

Steven Spitz, MD (new window)

The Geza M. Illes Award

The Geza M. Illes Award honors an outstanding first-year teacher who serves as an inspirational role model in the field of gross anatomy.

John DeSesso, PhD (new window)

Physiology Teacher of the Year Award

Students in the Special Masters Program in Physiology present the Physiology Teacher of the Year Award to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional qualities as an educator.

Charles Read, MD (new window)

The Doctoring Award

The Doctoring Award recognizes a faculty member, module director or leader in a doctoring module whose outstanding teaching, professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of the members of the class.

Michael Donnelly (new window), MD (new window)

Cura Personalis Award

The Cura Personalis Award recognizes exemplary individuals who embody the spirit of professionalism and cura personalis both in and out of the classroom.

John Karalis (new window) – class of 2018
Sam McAleese (new window) – class of 2017

John C. Rose Award

The John C. Rose Award is presented annually to a member of the faculty or administration who has demonstrated outstanding service to the school and has contributed to the improvement of medical education and student life.

Cameron Jones, MSc (new window)

Jeanne V. Walther Award for Administrative Excellence

The student leaders select an administrator who has displayed outstanding service to receive this award.

Whitman Brown, MBA (new window)

Golden Apple Awards Committee

Colleen Coghlan (new window)
Keva Garg (new window)
Jessica Hawken (new window)
Sean Wagner (new window)
Molly Warren (new window)

Golden Apple Awards Committee

Recognizes a clerkship coordinator or administrator who has demonstrated outstanding service to the students at Georgetown University School of Medicine and made significant contributions to the improvement of clinical medical education.

Shannon O’Donnell (new window) (Pediatrics)