Golden Apple Awards Ceremony Celebrates Students, Faculty

Posted in GUMC Stories

MARCH 13, 2014—Georgetown University School of Medicine (new window) students and faculty members were honored at the 36th Annual Golden Apple Awards. This year’s event took place March 8 at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Washington.

Golden Apple Awards

Each class presents the Golden Apple Award annually to a faculty member whose outstanding professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of members of the class.

Susan Mulroney, PhD (new window) – class of 2017
Yvonne Hernandez, PhD (new window) – class of 2016
Rebecca Evangelista, MD (new window) – class of 2015
Carlo Tornatore, MD (new window) – class of 2014

Faculty Affiliate Award

A faculty affiliate is a physician outside of Georgetown who has made a significant contribution to our clinical medical education and provided mentorship to medical students during their rotations.

Manesh Nachnani, MD (new window)
Virginia Hospital Center

Mother of Pearl Award

Each year students select several residents for their humanism and dedication to teaching. These residents are honored for having given the “String of Teaching Pearls” to these future physicians. Of these residents, one receives the Mother of Pearl Award.

John Miller, MD (new window)

The Geza M. Illes Award

The Geza M. Illes Award honors an outstanding first-year teacher who serves as an inspirational role model in the field of gross anatomy.

Nabil Azzam, PhD (new window)

Physiology Teacher of the Year Award

Students in the Special Masters Program in Physiology present the Physiology Teacher of the Year Award to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional qualities as an educator.

Susan Mulroney, PhD (new window)

The Doctoring Award

The Doctoring Award recognizes a faculty member, module director or leader in a doctoring module whose outstanding teaching, professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of the members of the class.

Michael Donnelly, MD (new window)

Cura Personalis Award

The Cura Personalis Award recognizes exemplary individuals who embody the spirit of professionalism and cura personalis both in and out of the classroom.

Nicholas Stukel (new window) – class of 2017
Versha Patel (new window) – class of 2016

John C. Rose Award

The John C. Rose Award is presented annually to a member of the faculty or administration who has demonstrated outstanding service to the school and has contributed to the improvement of medical education and student life.

C. Scott Dorris (new window)

Jeanne V. Walther Award for Administrative Excellence

The student leaders select an administrator who has displayed outstanding service to receive this award.

Annaliese Huessler

Golden Orchard Inductees

Membership in the Golden Orchard is an honor shared by those individuals whose sustained dedication to teaching has earned them three or more Golden Apple Awards.

Carlo Tornatore, MD (new window)
Rebecca Evangelista, MD (new window)
Susan Mulroney, PhD (new window)

Golden Apple Awards committee

Adrienne Bruce (new window)
Lauren Ditrio (new window)
Lucy Guevara (new window)
Matthew Waitner (new window)
Lindsay Weiner (new window)

By Sarah Reik
GUMC Communications