Medical School Ceremony Honors Humanism and Professionalism

Posted in GUMC Stories

APRIL 25, 2014—The School of Medicine (new window) celebrated the value of patient-centered medicine in the Jesuit tradition of cura personalis, which means “care of the whole person,” at the Gold Humanism Honor Society (new window) (GHHS) Induction Ceremony on Thursday, April 24.

At the ceremony, members of the Class of 2015 were inducted into the Georgetown University Chapter. The students were nominated by their peers and selected by faculty.

In addition, Sean Whelton, MD (new window), associate professor in the Department of Medicine, was inducted as a faculty member into the Society.

Dennis Murphy, MD (new window), assistant professor of medicine, delivered the keynote address and Aziza Shad, MD (new window), the Amey Distinguished Professor of Neuro-oncology and director of pediatric hematology and oncology at MedStar Georgetown University Hospital (new window), gave the closing remarks. Stephen Ray Mitchell, MD (new window), dean for medical education, and Princy Kumar, MD (new window), senior associate dean for students affairs, also participated in the ceremony.

The GHHS is supported nationally by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation for Humanism in Medicine.

According to the founders: “GHHS [seeks to] recognize, support and promote the values of humanism and professionalism in medicine. The Society is committed to working within and beyond medical education to inspire, nurture and sustain lifelong advocates and activists for patient-centered medical care.”

This year’s inductees were:

Connor Benton
Jeffrey Bien
Heather Boynton
Mary Elizabeth Card
Matthew Carpiniello
Michael Catalino
William Chapman
Robert Christian
Alexandria Coughlan
Katharine Davidoff
Armond Esmali
Charles Hannon
Megan Janni
Rebecca Kumar
Sara Loftin
Heather Melville
Kirsten Midgley
Ryan Navarro
John Nolan
Mark Norton
Emily Platz
Alison Raybould
Mark Real
Julia Reilly
Claire Thesing
Christopher Thomas
Julia Tse

By Lauren Wolkoff
GUMC Communications