39th Annual Golden Apple Awards Presented

Posted in GUMC Stories

March 25, 2017 — Georgetown University School of Medicine faculty and staff members were honored at the 39th Annual Golden Apple Awards. This year’s event was held on Saturday, March 25 at Old Ebbitt Grill in Washington, D.C. 

Golden Apple Awards

Each class presents the Golden Apple Award annually to a faculty member whose outstanding professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of members of the class.

Charles Read, MD – Class of 2020

Erin Farrish, MD – Class of 2019

Rebecca Evangelista, MD – Class of 2018

Marian Wulf-Gutierrez, MD – Class of 2017

Faculty Affiliate Award

The Faculty Affiliate Award is presented to a physician outside of Georgetown who has made a significant contribution to our clinical medical education and provided mentorship to medical students during their rotations.

Manesh Nachnani, MD

Mother of Pearl Award

Each year students select several residents for their humanism and dedication to teaching. These residents are honored for having given the “String of Teaching Pearls” to these future physicians. Of these residents, one receives the Mother of Pearl Award.

Joe Ferguson, MD, Orthopaedic Surgery

Inaugural Pearl of Wisdom Award

Johnny Costello, MD, General Surgery

The Geza M. Illes Award

The Geza M. Illes Award honors an outstanding first-year teacher who serves as an inspirational role model in the field of gross anatomy.

Martin Dym, PhD

Physiology Teacher of the Year Award

Students in the Special Masters Program in Physiology present the Physiology Teacher of the Year Award to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional qualities as an educator.

Charles Read, MD

The Doctoring Award

The Doctoring Award recognizes a faculty member, module director or leader in a doctoring module whose outstanding teaching, professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of the members of the class.

Erin Farrish, MD

John C. Rose Award

The John C. Rose Award is presented annually to a member of the faculty or administration who has demonstrated outstanding service to the school and has contributed to the improvement of medical education and student life.

Annaliese Heussler

Jeanne V. Walther Award for Administrative Excellence

The student leaders select an administrator who has displayed outstanding service to receive this award.

Susan Cheng, EdLD, MPP

Excellence in Teaching at HOYA Clinic Award

The Excellence in Teaching at HOYA Clinic Award recognizes a physician or nurse practitioner who demonstrates exemplary patient care and teaching skills at the HOYA Clinic.

Eileen Moore, MD