38th Annual Golden Apple Awards Presented

Posted in GUMC Stories

APRIL 13, 2016–Georgetown University School of Medicine students and faculty members were honored at the 38th Annual Golden Apple Awards. This year’s event was held on Saturday, April 9 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Washington, D.C. 

Golden Apple Awards

Each class presents the Golden Apple Award annually to a faculty member whose outstanding professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of members of the class.

John M. DeSesso, PhD (new window) – Class of 2019
Kenneth Dretchen, PhD (new window) – Class of 2018
Vincent WinklerPrins, MD (new window) – Class of 2017
Russell Wall, MD (new window) – Class of 2016

Faculty Affiliate Award

The Faculty Affiliate Award is presented to a physician outside of Georgetown who has made a significant contribution to our clinical medical education and provided mentorship to medical students during their rotations.

Deborah Topol, MD (new window)
Internal Medicine
MedStar Washington Hospital Center

Mother of Pearl Award

Each year students select several residents for their humanism and dedication to teaching. These residents are honored for having given the “String of Teaching Pearls” to these future physicians. Of these residents, one receives the Mother of Pearl Award.

John Costello, MD (new window)

The Geza M. Illes Award

The Geza M. Illes Award honors an outstanding first-year teacher who serves as an inspirational role model in the field of gross anatomy.

Aykut Üren, MD (new window)

Physiology Teacher of the Year Award

Students in the Special Masters Program in Physiology present the Physiology Teacher of the Year Award to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional qualities as an educator.

Charles Read, MD (new window)

The Doctoring Award

The Doctoring Award recognizes a faculty member, module director or leader in a doctoring module whose outstanding teaching, professional and personal qualities have enhanced the medical education of the members of the class.

Stacey Kaltman, PhD (new window)

Cura Personalis Award

The Cura Personalis Award recognizes exemplary individuals who embody the spirit of professionalism and cura personalis both in and out of the classroom.

Jhenya Nahreni – Class of 2019
James Spratt – Class of 2018

John C. Rose Award

The John C. Rose Award is presented annually to a member of the faculty or administration who has demonstrated outstanding service to the school and has contributed to the improvement of medical education and student life.

C. Scott Dorris, MLIS (new window)

Jeanne V. Walther Award for Administrative Excellence

The student leaders select an administrator who has displayed outstanding service to receive this award.

Cameron Jones, MSc (new window)

Excellence in Teaching at HOYA Clinic Award

The Excellence in Teaching at HOYA Clinic Award recognizes a physician or nurse practitioner who demonstrates exemplary patient care and teaching skills at the HOYA Clinic.

Sarah Kureshi, MD (new window)

Golden Apple Awards Committee

Victoria Angelucci, M1
Stephen Chong, M1
Karla Gray-Roncal, M2
Colleen Hamm, M1