Faculty and Student Awards

Please Note: This Event Has Passed

See our 2019 Convocation pages with information about this year’s event and honorees.

On Tuesday, November 13, 2018, the 11th Annual GUMC Convocation will bring together Georgetown University Medical Center students, faculty, and staff in a unified celebration recognizing unique and outstanding achievements in research, education and service. As part of our Convocation, GUMC faculty nominate colleagues who are actively engaged in research pursuits for special recognition in two categories: the GUMC Leadership in Research Award and the GUMC Research Recognition Award.

View a list of awardees from prior years.

For Lifetime Contribution to GUMC:

Phyllis R. Magrab, PhD
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Director, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development

For Outstanding Achievement in Research:

GUMC Leadership in Research Award:

Rebecca Katz, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Director, Center for Global Health Science and Security

GUMC Research Recognition Award:

Alexander Kroemer, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery

For Outstanding Achievement in Service:

GUMC Outstanding Service Award:

Maryanne Lachat, PhD, RN, CNL
Associate Professor, Department of Professional Nursing Practice

For Outstanding Achievement in Education:

Faculty Achievement in Education, School of Nursing & Health Studies:

Sean Huang, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Health Systems Administration

Pablo Irusta, PhD
Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Human Science

The 2018 Magis Honorees

The Magis Society of Master Teachers honors physicians and biomedical scientists dedicated to the care of others and society. Magis, Latin for “more greatly,” is a shortened form of ad majorem Dei gloriam or “towards the greater glory of God.” The 2018 honorees are:

Jacqueline Jonklaas, MD, PhD, MPH
Professor, Department of Medicine

Cirrelda Cooper, MD
Professor, Department of Radiology

Read more about the 2018 MAGIS Society of Master Teachers induction ceremony.

The Kaiser Permanente Award

Each year two new professors are selected to receive the Kaiser-Permanente Award for teaching. The 2018 honorees are:

Thomas Sherman, PhD
Professor, Department of Pharmacology

Dennis Murphy, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

The 2018 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

Eileen Moore, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine

Mother of Pearl Award

Michael Sosin, MD
Resident, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital/Department of Surgery

William Denney Zimmerman, DO
Resident, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital/Department of Neurology

Circle Grant Recipients

“Residents as Teachers”
Shimae Fitzgibbons, MD; Ornela A. Dervishaj, MD

“Screening for the Social Determinants of Health: Moving from Knowledge to Action Through Community Engagement”
Yumi Jarris, MD; Richard Waldhorn, MD; John Penner; Sarah Kureshi, MD

“Using Video Technology to Enhance Teaching of Clinical Skills”
Stacey Kaltman, PhD; Erin Farrish, MD; Ted Liao, MD

For Outstanding Student Achievement:

School of Medicine

Mary Jenkins (M’19)

School of Nursing & Health Studies

Lindsay Caprio (NHS’19)
Michaela Hitchner (NHS’19)

Biomedical Graduate Education

Dr. Zofia Zukowska Award for Excellence in Thesis Research:

Patrick Malone, MD/PhD Candidate

Dr. Mark Smulson Award for Excellence in Thesis Research:

Max Kushner, PhD Candidate
Tumor Biology Program